Choosing a contract

Choosing a contract

Posted by Shromika on Feb 27, 2017 5:42 pm

Hi there! I am a brand new traveler. I just accepted my first assignment. My question is, how do I decide what company to work with when I am ready for a new contract? I know I shouldn't have more than one company submit me for the same job. So how do I compare? I am on file with four companies right now. So when this contract is close to ending how should I proceed? I don't want to burn any bridges when I am just starting out. But I also want as much info as possible. As far as deciding who to interview with ECT. The companies I have talked to know what I am looking for next as far as location and assignment length.

Re: Choosing a contract

Posted by DavidRN on Feb 28, 2017 12:51 pm

It's actually more simple than you might think; which one is offering the best contract for YOU.

Sometimes I want to earn the big bucks and work lots of OT and pocket a nice stipend. Sometimes I want the great housing one of my companies always seems to secure. Sometimes, I'm indifferent and simply choose the one with the best overall package (decent wage, good insurance, and nice housing). Whatever my needs, I have a company that will help me meet my goal, but if they don't, then I always have the option to choose another location, join another company, or acquiesce to what is being offered.

Company loyalty does go a long way and if you prefer a certain company, after a bit, you can start asking for more of a stipend, more travel allowance for a further assignment, or perhaps a 65" LCD included with your furniture package. Some companies also offer loyalty monies for consecutive assignments.